top of page

How to Rock Your Summer Internship

Today I started my first day at my internship with The Birmingham Business Journal. For those of you who haven't kept up with me, I interned with The Auburn Villager (another newspaper) last semester, and I really learned a lot during my time there. As I was preparing for my first day at a new internship, I started a list of all the things I could do to be the best intern I could be this summer. Here are some of the key things I wrote down.

1. Dress the part. As an aspiring journalist, I'm expected to wear dress pants or a skirt, a blouse and nice shoes. I prefer not to wear jeans, but some of my coworkers have before. I also wouldn't ever wear dirty sneakers, a T-shirt or shorts. Although I usually wear heels, this definitely isn't required of me — I just love buying and wearing cute shoes! Depending on the field you're working in, you might have a certain dress code that you are expected to follow. Don't be afraid to ask your supervisors what is acceptable at your place at work. They will be happy to inform you, and knowing the dress code will make you more comfortable during your time at your internship.

2. Tell your supervisors what you hope to get out of the internship. While I was at The Villager, I got great feedback from my supervisors that helped me become a better writer. However, I left my internship still not knowing any strategies to write a good headline or to find good story ideas. On my first day at The Birmingham Business Journal, I sat down with my editor and told him that I hope to sharpen my skills in these areas during my internship there. Having this open communication is essential so you can get the most out of your internship.

3. Ask for feedback regularly. As an intern, you aren't an expert in your field yet. You still have a lot to learn, and that's OK! Ask for feedback, and make sure you listen to it. I made a habit out of writing down in my notebook the feedback I got. Not only does this help commit the advice to my memory, but it also will be something that I come across every once in a while as I flip through the pages of my notebook. This way, I'll be constantly reminded of the advice, making me more likely to improve.

4. Always say yes (if you can). One piece of positive feedback that my supervisor gave me last semester was that I said yes to any task they gave me. Unless you are physically unable, don't decline any tasks that your supervisor gives you. If you don't have any projects that you are working on, ask your supervisor if there is anything you can help with instead of waiting for him/her to need you. Having a go-getter attitude will give you a ton of experience and will give your supervisor a lot of good things to say about you in a recommendation letter one day.

5. Be punctual. People notice when you are consistently late. At my previous internship, I went to the office straight after class. Every once in a while, the transit bus would be on a weird schedule, making me late to the office. Even if I was just going to be five minutes late, I texted my supervisor and let her know the situation. It is better to let someone know you will be late ahead of time than to walk in late and make excuses. 

6. Be a good coworker. Try to interact with the other interns or workers. Keep a smile on your face. Say "good morning" when you walk in. You want to be someone that people enjoy working with — if people enjoy working with you, you might get a job offer at the end of the internship! At the very least, being someone who is pleasant to work with is something your supervisor will put in a recommendation letter after your internship is over.

7. Write a thank-you card. By the end of your internship, your supervisors will have dedicated a lot of time helping you grow in your field. Write them a thank-you note for their time and mail it to them after you leave. Tell them how they helped you and what you enjoyed. This helps you leave the internship on good terms with everyone, which will help you grow your network.

Anything I missed? Let me know!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page